Leave a comment

Inquest into death of Leston man closes

"Court Room" where a Guantanamo mili...

An inquest into the tragic death of Leston grandfather Ron Toper closed yesterday after hearing evidence from his widow, Valerie.

‘It was just a normal Sunday evening like any other,’ she explained.  ‘Ron was sat in his chair snoring away. Suddenly, he wakes up, gets to his feet and goes upstairs.  When he came back down, he was holding one of those crown green bowls that are so important to him that he would rather spend the weekend rolling them round a bloody lawn with his bloody Rotary Club cronies than spend an afternoon having a nice pub lunch with his wife of 38 years.

‘Then he said to me: “I bet I could throw this up in the air and catch it in my mouth.”  After around fifteen to twenty unsuccessful attempts, he decided to have a lie down on the carpet.  It was then I noticed he had stopped breathing.  As soon as I had made made myself ham and cheese sandwich for supper, I immediately called for an ambulance.’  The Coroner recorded a verdict of death by misadventure.

Leave a Reply

